Search for the IBA exam format and you’ll run into two different sets of numbers. One source says 1,000 practice hours. Another says 1,500. So which one is right, and what does the IBA exam format actually look like?
We checked IBAO’s own pages, its requirements document and its knowledge base before writing this guide. The short version: the IBA exam format and the hour requirements come from documents written at different times. Keep reading and you’ll know which numbers to trust, which to double-check and what to do next. If you’d rather test yourself first, take the free ABA practice exam and get an honest baseline.
⚠️ Important: IBAO’s downloadable requirements document is labeled “2021 v101.” It describes a 150-question, 3-hour online exam, but it also lists 1,000 practice hours and 50 supervision hours. IBAO’s academy blog says candidates who register on or after October 1, 2025 need 1,500 practice hours and 75 supervision hours instead. This guide uses the newer numbers for hours and labels the IBA exam format details as coming from the older document. Confirm everything in the current IBA Handbook before you pay for anything.
✅ If you’re ready to apply for the IBA: Learn the IBA exam format and requirements below, then start timed practice with the IBA Exam Prep Bundle. It includes a visual study guide and a 200-question mock exam with a built-in timer.
🌍 If you’re still choosing a credential: Compare your options first in our QBA vs BCBA vs IBA guide, then try the free exam to see where you stand.
Table of Contents
- Which Sources to Trust on the IBA Exam Format
- IBA Exam Format at a Glance: 7 Facts
- What the IBA Exam Format Documents Don’t Say
- IBA Requirements Before You Can Sit the Exam
- Master’s Route vs Experience Route
- IBA Fees and the $99 Addition
- How to Practice for the IBA Exam Format
- Your 6-Step IBA Application Checklist
- What Comes After You Pass
- Frequently Asked Questions
Which Sources to Trust on the IBA Exam Format
IBAO, the International Behavior Analysis Organization, issues the IBA credential. It’s a separate organization from the BACB. That matters because the BACB’s exam rules, hour counts and test centers don’t carry over. Everything below comes from IBAO’s own material.
Here’s the honest part. IBAO’s information is spread across several places, and they don’t all agree. We found four that matter:
- The IBA page on IBAO’s website. It gives the fees: $299 for registration (which includes the exam) and $99 for the IBA Addition.
- The IBAO knowledge base. It lists the current requirements: 270 hours of coursework, 1,500 practice hours and 75 supervision hours.
- The IBAO academy blog. It states that the 1,500 and 75 figures apply to candidates who register on or after October 1, 2025.
- The IBA requirements document (labeled 2021 v101). It’s the only one of the four that describes the exam itself.
See the problem? The one document that describes the IBA exam format is also the one with the outdated hour counts. So the IBA exam format details in this guide come with a flag, and the requirements come from the newer sources.
We also tried to open the IBA Handbook page on IBAO’s site. Our tools couldn’t read it, so nothing in this guide comes from the handbook itself. IBAO’s knowledge base says the handbook explains all the requirements, so read it yourself before you commit. If you’re also weighing other credentials, our guide to certification mistakes shows what trips up first-time candidates.
IBA Exam Format at a Glance: 7 Facts
This table is the IBA exam format as IBAO’s requirements document describes it, plus the fee from IBAO’s website. The last two rows are things the sources we could read don’t state. We’d rather leave them blank than guess.
| IBA exam format detail | What IBAO’s sources say | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Number of questions | 150, multiple-choice or true/false | Requirements document (2021 v101) |
| Time limit | 3 hours | Requirements document (2021 v101) |
| Content | 7 broad categories (names and weights not listed) | Requirements document (2021 v101) |
| Delivery | Online with virtual proctoring, no test centers | Requirements document (2021 v101) |
| Cost of the exam | Included in the $299 registration fee | IBAO website |
| Passing score | Not stated in the sources we could read | Ask IBAO |
| Retake rules | Not stated in the sources we could read | Ask IBAO |
| Want to rehearse this IBA exam format under a timer? The IBA Exam Prep Bundle has a 200-question mock exam with performance analytics and written rationales. | ||
What the IBA exam format means for your pace: 150 questions in 3 hours
Do the math. Three hours is 180 minutes. Divided by 150 questions, that’s 1.2 minutes, or 72 seconds, per question. Hold back 20 minutes to review flagged items and you’re down to about 64 seconds each.
That’s not a lot of time for a long scenario. It’s plenty for a short definition question. So pace matters as much as content in the IBA exam format. Untimed practice won’t prepare you for that, because it hides how much a timer changes your decisions. Practice with the clock running from the start.
Why the IBA exam format mixes multiple-choice and true/false
The requirements document says questions are multiple-choice or true/false. True/false items feel easy, but they punish half-knowledge. A statement that’s 90% correct is still false. When you practice, train yourself to read every word of a statement before you decide, and check for absolute words like “always” and “never.”
For practice at that level of detail, work through our IBA practice questions. They’re study aids, not real exam items, so use them to check your reasoning rather than to predict your score.
Online proctored: your setup is part of the IBA exam format
Because the IBA exam format is online with virtual proctoring, there’s no testing center to travel to. That’s convenient for candidates in countries with no nearby center. It also means your internet connection, computer and room are your responsibility. IBAO’s documents we read don’t list technical requirements, so ask IBAO about them well before exam day rather than the night before.
What the IBA Exam Format Documents Don’t Say
This is the section most guides skip. We think it’s the most useful one.
The sources we could read don’t state a passing score. They don’t state a retake policy. They name seven content categories in the requirements document without listing them or their weights. And they don’t say how many questions are unscored, or whether any are.
So if you see a website quoting an IBA passing score, ask where the number came from. That goes for ours too. We don’t publish one because we couldn’t verify it. The same caution applies to any “percentage of questions per topic” claim that doesn’t link to IBAO.
Here’s what to do instead:
- Email IBAO at info@theibao.com, the contact address on its website, and ask for the current passing score, retake rules and content outline.
- Save the reply with its date. Policies change, and you’ll want a record.
- Study every domain evenly until you have weights from IBAO itself. Our guide to the 5 most challenging IBA topics is a good place to decide where to spend extra time, as long as you treat it as our judgment and not IBAO’s blueprint.
Not knowing the passing score feels uncomfortable. It shouldn’t change your plan, though. You prepare for the IBA exam format the same way either way: cover every category, practice under time pressure and review every miss.
IBA Requirements Before You Can Sit the Exam
Knowing the IBA exam format is only half the job. You can’t just book the exam. You have to finish the requirements first, and they take far longer than the three hours of testing. This table shows the current figures from IBAO’s knowledge base and academy blog. Where a detail comes only from the older v101 document, we say so.
| Requirement | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | $299, includes the exam | IBAO website |
| Coursework (REOs) | 270 hours from Approved Content Providers or ABAI Verified Course Sequences | IBAO knowledge base |
| Practice hours | 1,500: 600 implementing, 600 programming, 300 in either | IBAO academy blog (registration on or after Oct 1, 2025) |
| Supervision hours | 75: 30 observing, 30 non-observing, 15 either | IBAO academy blog (registration on or after Oct 1, 2025) |
| Candidate skills testing | Required (v101: 2 tests, at least 10 minutes and 10 components each, 80% accuracy) | Knowledge base; details from v101 |
| Continuing education (CEUs) | Required (v101: 12 before certification, including 2 ethics, 2 supervision, 2 cultural diversity and 6 ABA topics) | Knowledge base; details from v101 |
| Projects | Two, for the experience route only (v101: two projects of different types) | Knowledge base; details from v101 |
| While you log hours, keep your IBA exam format skills sharp with the IBA study guide and mock exam. | ||
Notice the pattern. The knowledge base confirms a requirement exists, and the older v101 document supplies the finer detail. The finer detail may have changed since 2021, which is exactly why the 1,000 and 50 figures in that document are now out of date for new registrants. Treat any v101 detail as “probably still close, but verify.”
How the 1,500 practice hours break down
The split is 600 hours implementing, 600 hours programming and 300 hours in either category. The 300 flexible hours let you lean toward whichever kind of work your job gives you more of.
Notice what this means for planning. If your role is mostly direct implementation, the 600 programming hours are the ones to protect. Talk to your supervisor early about how you’ll get them.
How the 75 supervision hours break down
Supervision is 30 hours of observing, 30 of non-observing and 15 of either type. The v101 document says group supervision can’t be more than 50% of supervised hours and groups can’t exceed five people. That rule comes from the older document, so check whether it still applies before you count a group session.
Master’s Route vs Experience Route
IBAO describes two ways in. Pick the one that fits your education, because it changes your workload before the exam.
- Master’s route. You hold a master’s degree. You complete the coursework, practice and supervision hours, skills testing, CEUs and exam.
- Experience route. You hold a bachelor’s degree (or, per v101, a regional equivalent of two years of post-secondary education). You do everything above plus two projects before the exam.
The experience route is real, but it’s more work. Budget extra time for the two projects, and ask IBAO what each one must contain before you start. If you’re comparing this against other credentials, our QBA vs BCBA vs IBA comparison lays the requirements side by side.
IBA Fees and the $99 Addition
IBAO’s website gives two prices. Registration for a new candidate is $299 and includes the cost of the exam. The IBA Addition is $99, and it’s for people who already hold a behavior analysis certification and can provide verification of it.
Before you plan around the $99 route, read this carefully. IBAO’s academy blog says the QBA will no longer be eligible for the IBA Addition, and the BCaBA will no longer be accepted for it either. For a QBA holder who wants the IBA, the blog says you’ll be required to pass the IBA exam. It also says QASP-S holders with the 90-hour bridge course will no longer be accepted for the Addition, but QASP-S holders must still complete the 90-hour bridge course. We can’t tell you how this applies to your specific certification. Ask IBAO to confirm your eligibility before you spend money.
Policies like this change, so check the date on anything you read about the Addition. If a page says “just pay $99 and you’re an IBA,” ask for IBAO’s source.
How to Practice for the IBA Exam Format
You don’t need the exam content to practice the IBA exam format. You need timed sets, a review habit and a way to find weak spots. Here’s a simple plan built around the IBA exam format of 150 questions in 3 hours.
Start with an untimed baseline
Take the free practice exam once without a timer. Write down every topic you missed or guessed. Don’t judge yourself yet. You’re collecting a list.
Add the clock to match the IBA exam format
Next, work in timed blocks. A 30-question block at 72 seconds per question takes 36 minutes. Do one every day for a week and you’ll feel the pace without burning out. The IBA Exam Prep Bundle has a built-in timer and domain analytics, so the review step is faster.
Run one full-length IBA exam format rehearsal
About a week before your exam, sit down for three hours with no breaks, no phone and no notes. Use the same computer and room you’ll use on exam day. If your setup fails in rehearsal, you’ve found out while it’s cheap to fix.
Review the misses, not the scores
A score tells you where you are. A review of your misses tells you where to go. For each wrong answer, write one sentence on why the right answer is right. If you can’t, mark the topic for another pass. Our IBA practice questions include explanations for exactly this kind of review.
Your 6-Step IBA Application Checklist
IBAO’s pages we read list the requirements, not a strict order. This sequence is our suggestion for keeping them manageable.
- Confirm your route and eligibility. Master’s route or experience route? If you hold another certification, ask IBAO whether the Addition applies to you.
- Read the current IBA Handbook. Compare it against the numbers in this guide. Where they differ, the handbook wins.
- Register and find a supervisor. After you register, IBAO’s knowledge base says you request a supervisor and log your practice and supervision hours in your online account.
- Work through the 270 hours of coursework. Use Approved Content Providers or ABAI Verified Course Sequences, and keep your completion records.
- Complete the remaining requirements. That means candidate skills testing, CEUs and, for the experience route, the two projects. Upload each one to your account as you finish.
- Rehearse the IBA exam format. Run timed practice with the IBA Exam Prep Bundle and one full three-hour rehearsal, then sit the exam.
What Comes After You Pass
Certification isn’t the finish line. According to the older v101 document, the first two-year cycle requires 24 CEUs (4 ethics, 4 supervision, 4 cultural diversity and awareness, and 12 ABA topics). It also requires one year of professional mentorship: two hours per month for 12 months. The document says later cycles have fewer requirements but doesn’t list them.
Because that’s from the 2021 document, treat it as a preview, not a promise. Ask IBAO for the current recertification rules when you register so there are no surprises later.
Ready to practice the IBA exam format?
Start with the free ABA practice exam to find your weak spots. Then get instant access to the IBA Exam Prep Bundle: a visual study guide and a 200-question timed mock exam with rationales.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the IBA exam format?
IBAO’s requirements document (labeled 2021 v101) describes 150 multiple-choice or true/false questions in 3 hours, delivered online with virtual proctoring. That works out to 72 seconds per question. It’s the only IBAO source we could read that gives these numbers, so confirm the IBA exam format in the current IBA Handbook.
Is the IBA exam online?
Yes. The IBA exam format in the requirements document is an online exam with virtual proctoring and no testing centers. Ask IBAO about the technical requirements for your computer and room.
What is the IBA passing score?
We couldn’t find a passing score in the IBAO sources we could read, so we don’t state one. Email IBAO at info@theibao.com for the current figure.
How much does the IBA cost?
IBAO’s website lists $299 for registration, which includes the cost of the exam, and $99 for the IBA Addition for people who already hold a behavior analysis certification. Those are the two fees we found on IBAO’s pages, so check the current fee details before you register.
How many practice and supervision hours does the IBA require?
For candidates who register on or after October 1, 2025, IBAO’s academy blog gives 1,500 practice hours and 75 supervision hours. The older v101 document lists 1,000 and 50, which is why you shouldn’t copy numbers from it.
Is the IBA the same as the BCBA?
No. IBAO issues the IBA, and the BACB issues the BCBA. They’re separate organizations with separate requirements. Read our QBA vs BCBA vs IBA guide for a side-by-side view.
Where should I practice first?
Take the free practice exam to find your weak topics. When you want full-length timed practice with rationales, get the IBA Exam Prep Bundle, or browse the full shop for other credentials.
Disclaimer: ABA Practice is an independent study resource and isn’t affiliated with or endorsed by IBAO. The practice questions on this site are original study aids, not real exam items. Exam details, fees and eligibility rules change, so confirm current information with IBAO before you apply.
